Feel Your Music: Remembering DWDM 95.5

I’m sure you still remember the tagline Feel Your Music. That was used by DM 95.5, the station which existed from around 2002 to early 2007, throughout my childhood existence.

Back in the day, DM played a majority of classic hits in which they call Dazzling Music, though it usually played late 90s & 2000s music during mornings and afternoons. Or should I say from its former top-of-the-hour stinger, this station used to fill Metro Manila with entertainingly good music. At that time, Moody Jam was the only voice I hear on most plugs. And it used to air nice stingers, notably “Oldies 95-5”, etc.

DM used to have a Weeknight program (I forgot the title), which aired from 5pm – 10pm. It played mostly Classic Rock. I can still remember the usual opener of that program, which is a mash-up of Van Halen’s Jump & Quiet Riot’s Cum On Feel The Noize. And it even used to have a Saturday program called DM Saturday, which played only Retro music, including Classic Rock.

As an avid listener of this station, I was tuned in to it every day, even on my way home from school. I can even remember waking up at around 5am with a set of 4 disco tracks. I was an avid listener since 2001, even when it used to be known as Pinoy Radio DM 95.5. My favorite song back then was Siakol’s Sige Na, Tuloy Pa.

The Classic Rock tracks I usually hear were Eagle’s Long Run, Joe Walsh’s Life’s Been Good, Skid Row’s 18 and Life, Styx’s Too Much Time On My Hands, Hall & Oates’ She’s Gone, Little River Band’s Help Is On Its Way, Collective Soul’s December, Toto’s Pamela, Led Zeppelin’s Stairway To Heaven, Hootie & The Blowfish’s Only Wanna Be With You, Lynyrd Skynrd’s Sweet Home Alabama, John Mellencamp’s Jack & Diane, Depeche Mode’s Dreaming Of Me, Culture Club’s War Song, Alessi Bros.’ I Wish That I Was Making Love, Black Sabbath’s Changes, The Cars’ Tonight She Comes, Pink Floyd’s Another Brick in the Wall (Parts 1 & 2), and other songs which are very mainstream than the ones mentioned.

The Dance tracks I usually hear were Tea For Two’s Time & Love, Breakfast Club’s Rico Mambo, Club Nouveau’s Rumors, Ghost Town DJs’ My Boo, Rita Lee’s Lanca Perfume, Lipps Inc.’s Designer Music, Ken Laszlo’s Don’t Cry, etc.

However, this didn’t last so long. Around the 2nd Week of January 2007, DM surprisingly left the airwaves. Since then, I searched for other stations which fit my taste, notably RT. 4 years ago, it made its comeback as Pinas FM, which initially played hot hits & nowadays plays only OPM (similar to Pinoy Radio). DM 95.5 was the station I grew up with & the station which gained my interest in retro music. Even if it wasn’t that recognized before, DM won’t be forgotten.

2 Responses to Feel Your Music: Remembering DWDM 95.5

  1. Gallant says:

    The station called “DM 95.5” is actually the third incarnation of the entity first launched in 1987.

    DM 95.5 was brought back into the air on May 2007. The official reason given for the hiatus from the airwaves was “transmission facility upgrade.” However, its comeback was very short-lived.

    During Pinas FM’s early days it reused one of DM’s stingers.

  2. Aries says:

    Fascinating reflashing classics was during title

Responses

